• Visitor Count web counter
  • An ISO 9001: 2008 CERTIFIED SCHOOL

St. Michael's Sr. Sec. School

Recognized by the Deptt. of Education Delhi vide No. F.Zone-28 (w)/4853-D.D.E (cd) 450 and affiliated to the Central Board of Secondary Education vide No. CBSE/Affiliated 2730089/Ex-01131-2021/2020-21/

India's Presidency Over G20

To Mark the historic occasion as India has taken over G20 Presidency for the first time

Here are some facts about the G20 summit

  1. The Group of Twenty (G20) is made up of countries from various regions.It has 19 countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germanv, India, Indonesia, Italy, japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Türkive, United Kingdom and United States of America) and the European Union.
  2. G20 member countries make up two thirds of the World's population, 85% of the Global GoP and 75% of International trade.
  3. The G20 consists of two parallel tracks: the Finance Track and the SherpaTrack.
  1. The G20 does not have a permanent Secretariat but instead has a rotating Presidency.
  2. India will become the President of the G20 for the first time from 1st December 2022 - 30th November 2023.
  3. There will be 200+ meetings across India during our G20 Presidency.
  4. The G20 summit will be held in New Delhi and will be attended by leaders from around the world.
  5. India will be inviting Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain, and United Arab Emirates as guest countries for G20 meetings and the Summit.
  6. The Logo for India's G20 Presidency is made up of the Lotus, the national flower of India, and the Earth, and symbolizes living in Harmony with Nature.
  7. The theme of India's G20 Presidency - "Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam" or "One Earth, One Family, One Future" - is drawn from the ancient Sanskrit text of the Maha Upanishad.
  8. For india, the G20 Presidency also marks the beginning of "Amritkaal", the 25-vear period beginning from the 75th anniversary of its Independence on 15th August 2022, leading up to the centenary of its Independence.
  9. The last few Presidencies of G20 have been - Turkey (2015), China (2016), Germany (2017), Argentina (2018), Japan (2019), Saudi Arabia (2020) followed by Italy(2021), and Indonesia (2022)
  10. The theme of India's G20 Presidency - "Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam" or "One Earth One Family One Future" - is drawn from the ancient Sanskrit text of the Maha Upanishad. Essentially. the theme affirms the value of all life - human, animal, plant, and microorganisms - and their inter connectedness on the planet Earth.